Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Elhombre999
  • 1 Post By Elhombre999

Thread: New!!! Tire foam glue!!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2015, 12:01 AM   #1
Addict

Default New!!! Tire foam glue!!

I've been doing some testing for about 6 months and im cinaly ready to release my glue for glueing 1/5 tire foams. The benefits of gluing your foam is your foams will disintegrate, and ware out less because they will not be rotating or slideing on the rim you will get better side traction and less Tire roll because the foam does not move from the rim. And the best overall benefit will be your tires will last longer because they will not get deformed and balloon which would cause the sidewall of the tire to rip Where the bead lock meets the rim. This is a lot more aparent in the new Jconcept tires because they are a softer compound.
I will post pics shortly of foams that have been glued to the rim and ones that have not been glued so you can see the diffrence. I will have a small amount of this glue available before the West Coast nationals.
Elhombre999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-22-2015, 05:25 AM   #2
Addict

Garage
Default Re: New!!! Tire foam glue!!

Good idea, but the JConcepts tires are not only softer, they are too large for the Losi foam/wheel. Glue may help, but I'm doubtful it will prevent them from ripping/pulling out of the beadlock. I've been taping the foams with Gorilla tape and using longer beadlock screws (M3x13mm) along with nylock nuts--they are still coming out. I've still got a pair with the symptom which I used at the Canadian Nat's last weekend. As soon as the track grooved up, the Reflex tires started popping out of the beadlock. Speaks well for the grip, but the problem still exists. I believe the only solution is to actually use CA glue on the bead lock. I'm afraid even that will cause the sidewall to shread due to the softer compound and the oversized tire.
PegLeg is offline   Reply With Quote