Go Back   RCLargeScale.com > Large Scale General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Loading

Thread: No throttle fail safe! Keep your batts charged!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2010, 11:17 AM   #1
Basher
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 71
Default No throttle fail safe! Keep your batts charged!

I just finished the install of the throttle/brake rod assembly and install, and noticed there is no mechanical fail safe. Ouch!

With that being said, anybody know how long you can go on a single charge? Im using the HPI 6v 5 cell, 3000mAh NiMH.

Thanks,

-Chris
Gasturbine is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-09-2010, 11:44 AM   #2
The Slowest Guy in Town
 
FastEddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sonoma County CA
Posts: 4,035
Default

IF IF IF Your battery is at full charge and was properly cycled you should get 2 or so tanks out of it and still be safe.
FastEddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 11:53 AM   #3
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 437
Default

An engine kill switch is a must for these cars. If you have a 3 channel radio, not only will the kill switch kill the engine when you loose radio signal, but it will also kill it if you loose battery power, and you can kill the engine manually if your throttle servo where to jam up with dirt and debris.

http://www.davesmotors.com/s.nl/c.88...t.A/id.3569/.f

If you have a 2 channel radio, you can have all of the bases covered except manually killing the engine.

http://www.davesmotors.com/s.nl/c.88...t.A/id.7070/.f

Chris
5B Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 12:10 PM   #4
Basher
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 71
Default

Thanks guys for the info!

And Chris, thanks for the link...I was excited, until I read that it is not compatible with Futaba's 2.4 GHz systems...which is what Im running...grrrrr.

-Chris
Gasturbine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 12:40 PM   #5
Made in.....
 
robmob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Napa
Posts: 3,404
Default

It will work with the Futaba 2.4 systems.

http://www.killerrc.com/products/pro...killswitch.php

Click the image to open in full size.
robmob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 07:47 PM   #6
Addict
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasturbine View Post
Thanks guys for the info!

And Chris, thanks for the link...I was excited, until I read that it is not compatible with Futaba's 2.4 GHz systems...which is what Im running...grrrrr.

-Chris
Who told you that load of ... stuff... ?

Love my 3PM 2.4ghz Futaba -and- my Killer Bee V1.
These work great together.
Tommy's_Toys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 10:14 PM   #7
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 296
Default

I too have a KBv1 on my futaba 2.4 GHz and it works great
wookiee528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 11:14 PM   #8
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 437
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gasturbine View Post
Thanks guys for the info!

And Chris, thanks for the link...I was excited, until I read that it is not compatible with Futaba's 2.4 GHz systems...which is what Im running...grrrrr.

-Chris
It's not the Futaba system that the switches are not compatible with. It's the new 2.4 GHz system that HPI is now including with the Bajas. Pic below.

Chris
Attached Images
 
5B Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 04:59 AM   #9
Basher
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 71
Default

Okay, I'm stupid.

I saw HPI and 2.4, and somehow came up with Futaba...early senior moment I'm sure.:ponder:

Thanks for the correction!

-Chris
Gasturbine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 11:55 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 29
Default

From my experience, one tank of gaz with the Baja 5b drain about 500-550mah. with 2 digi servos (hs7955 and hs5755)

Do the math ;-)
Glorfindel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 12:32 PM   #11
Basher
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 71
Default

^^^
Yes, but thats the draw when being moved and/or holding a position, thus, the hourly draw could vary greatly, depending on then driving being done.

Regards,

-Chris
Gasturbine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


No throttle fail safe! Keep your batts charged! - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fail safe kill switch Gravman Electronics 20 04-06-2011 03:25 PM
Fail Safe/Kill Switch Confusion zignzag Electronics 6 12-27-2010 06:42 PM
Fail Safe LED is on phil22 Electronics 4 11-08-2010 08:15 AM
newbe fail-safe question raslightning Electronics 1 04-12-2010 02:28 PM
futaba 2.4 fail safe Lord shado Electronics 5 07-27-2009 11:44 PM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.