Go Back   RCLargeScale.com > Large Scale General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Loading
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By DIMBLEWAMBIE RACING
  • 1 Post By DIMBLEWAMBIE RACING

Thread: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2013, 12:51 AM   #1
Basher
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 50
Default Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Hey guys...wondering if anyone else have had this same problem. My kill switch is about a month old and is starting to act up.
When it is connected, it allows my engine to start, but as soon as I drive the truck about 20 ft or so it shuts the engine off. It can sit and idle, but as soon as I gun it, it kills the engine and all you hear is the kill switch beeping like when it is first turned on.
I have adjusted the sensitivity, charged my lipo fully and it still does the same thing. Even looked at the wires for exposed leads. Killing it with the 3rd channel switch also functions normally.

I removed the kill switch and installed the stock kill switch to test it out and sure enough, it worked. So the problem is with the killer rc kill switch.

Was working perfectly until this weekend. Anyone have any idea what it could be?
chargedtaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-09-2013, 11:34 AM   #2
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Sounds like radio interference issue.
What radio?
First set the super bee sensitivity back to the factory settings.
Then change the spark plug. Be sure you are using a resistor style spark plug the NGK CMR7H.

For fastest response its best to email info@killerrc.com

See here for more tips on what to check when the engine is being prematurely killed.
Removing a Kill Switch

Last edited by Killer RC; 04-09-2013 at 11:40 AM.
Killer RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:56 AM   #3
Justin Lamb
 
DIMBLEWAMBIE RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: La Cresta Murrieta, CA
Posts: 1,684
Garage
Default

That happened to me once, turned out to be a loose battery connection. No fault of the killer bee I was using..

Kent will get you sorted out for sure


Sent from my IPad using Tapatalk HD
Killer RC likes this.
DIMBLEWAMBIE RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 05:21 PM   #4
Basher
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 50
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

I use a Futaba 4PL, NGK CMR7H plugs and your 7.4v Lipo, fully charged. I have tried the kill switch at all 4 sensitivity settings to no avail. The battery connection is snapped in.
I
chargedtaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 08:05 PM   #5
Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 1,291
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Ok. Change spark plug to a new one, as mentioned above.

Then if that doesn't fix it we need to isolate the issue.
Go back to factory sensitivity. One green flash at startup.
Flip down the #2 dip switch to turn off glitch kill. Turn on tx and rx, start engine, run car.
Then report back with your results.

Last edited by Killer RC; 04-09-2013 at 08:09 PM.
Killer RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 12:17 AM   #6
Basher
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 50
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Will try that out this weekend and report back.
chargedtaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 02:46 AM   #7
Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Broomall
Posts: 1,306
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Charge I had the same problem on my truck. Ran it 20 feet and the motor died. Was it the plug?
Jones Auto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 12:57 PM   #8
Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lafayette
Posts: 144
Default

Make sure your battery on the remote is fully charged, zip tie the killer bee connector together, make sure the wires aren't nicked going from motor to batt


Tekno SCT410 "Lite" RX8/Pro4
Tekno SCT410 "Hefty" RX8/Pro4
Tekno V4 SC8.2e
Losi 5ive-T Trevor Simpson reed built 2-speed
Team SR
SwampKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 06:01 PM   #9
Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Rohnert Park
Posts: 476
Garage
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Maybe you should get a Spektrum
Aasved is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 06:27 PM   #10
TeK
Racer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 178
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aasved View Post
Maybe you should get a Spektrum


TeK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:21 PM   #11
Justin Lamb
 
DIMBLEWAMBIE RACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: La Cresta Murrieta, CA
Posts: 1,684
Garage
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aasved View Post
Maybe you should get a Spektrum
Then there would be an obvious reason for the kill switch not working


Sent from my IPad using Tapatalk HD
robmob likes this.
DIMBLEWAMBIE RACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 08:41 PM   #12
Basher
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Here
Posts: 50
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jones Auto View Post
Charge I had the same problem on my truck. Ran it 20 feet and the motor died. Was it the plug?
Nope. Wasn't the plug. Didn't get a chance to run it this past weekend as it was raining all weekend long. Hopefully I can get it sorted out once I can run it again. I will let you know what I find.
chargedtaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2017, 04:16 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Resurrecting this thread, was there ever a resolution with this issue? I am also having this same problem. I have put both the dip switches down and it still happening. Once I disconnect the super bee kill switch, I can run the buggy as long as I want.
fastgascar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 06:24 AM   #14
Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 499
Garage
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Some radio brands just don't work well with the kill switch. I suspect that that is the problem?
king quarterscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 07:00 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Interesting, I am using an older model spektrum specifically the dx3r pro and have set it up per the instructions that killer bee has on there website the remote shutoff works when @ idle, also when I turn the transmitter off the engine dies both as expected
fastgascar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 07:19 AM   #16
Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 499
Garage
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

It could be a bad receiver or a bad kill switch or low voltage? I only use NIMH batteries with Airtronics and Hitec . Make sure there are no loose connections. Activate fail safe. If the motor shuts off 20 ft. away then you have a sensitivity problem which can be from low voltage. Try disconnecting the servos and test only the kill switch with a range test.. Then add one servo at a time with the truck off the ground and see what happens? I suspect one of your servos may be bad?

Last edited by king quarterscale; 12-28-2017 at 07:28 AM.
king quarterscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2017, 08:02 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

I run a 10AMP CC BEC between my 2S Lipo receiver pack and receiver, the servos and killer bee maybe more load than the 10AMP BEC or the BEC is faulty, CC is sending me a replacement to help isolate the issue. When I plug my 6V NIMH receiver pack directly to the receiver, things are working as expected.
fastgascar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 03:42 AM   #18
Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Huntington
Posts: 330
Default Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Then the servo extinction lead is the problem
They are loosing connection between the male and female plugs
I had the same problem and it was the loose fit between the plugs
It would glitch when it would land from a jump and shut down
I changed the servo extension I was using and the problem went away

Last edited by Nitrocat; 12-29-2017 at 03:49 AM.
Nitrocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 04:40 AM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 5
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

My problem looks like the BEC might be out of its AMP limit. Its only rated for 10 AMPS
fastgascar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2017, 05:53 AM   #20
Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 499
Garage
Default Re: Problem with Killer RC kill switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastgascar View Post
My problem looks like the BEC might be out of its AMP limit. Its only rated for 10 AMPS
Nitrocat doesn't know what the problem is? You didn't even list a servo extension. You found the problem. If your RX and servo's can run on 2S then ditch the BEC. If not then Run nimh. I run 5000 Nimh with no problems. I don't like external BEC for anything. Just more problems as you have discovered.

If using the SR 310 or 415 the voltage range is 3.5-9.6 volts. Read your radio instruction manual to make sure you can run 2s. Don't use AVC receiver's as the kill switch won't work!!!

Last edited by king quarterscale; 12-29-2017 at 05:59 AM.
king quarterscale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Problem with Killer RC kill switch - Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Killer RC light controller and Killer Bee kill switch sickchevy Electronics 7 09-21-2012 05:01 PM
Vendor Giveaway #7 Killer RC Super Bee Kill Switch LOST IN MN Losi 5ive-T 591 05-26-2012 08:32 AM
The Killer Bee engine kill switch Killer RC Killer RC 29 04-01-2012 08:22 PM
Killer RC's New Remote Kill Switch Killer RC General Large Scale 0 05-24-2009 08:43 AM
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.